An exotic look for the holidays 

  
  
  

As I look through my clothes closet and wanting to create a vintage feel for the holidays…gold sequins is calling my name. Many years ago, I traveled to Rio De Janiero,Brazil and with my travels, I collect clothing from the country as a souvenir to myself. In this blog post , my attempt is to create a vintage look from my closet without spending a dime. 

Since sequin looks are one of my favorites, the created look will be achieved on this premise. Bold with gold is my theme, from head to toe we will achieve the holiday vintage look. Let’s get started!👍

The Hair Style-in the image provided the model is Rockin Bold Bantu Knots , this hairstyle’s origin is deeply rooted in Black history. I recall wearing my hair twisted like this to provide order and control thus preventing tangling while wet and keeping the hair neat until dry. With this style, in achieving a clean and polished look applying ORS Monoi Oil Edge Control hair gel to smooth the edges and frame the look. 

    The Makeup- The foundation choice is Perfect Face by Ashunta Sheriff. The recommended look for the eyes are a smokey- eye look with Individual or strip lashes. The popular look for the lips are matte lips in the plum family using a liquid matte lip gloss by Colour Pop in LAX. Add a subtle burgundy blush to the cheeks and a hint of bronze ( on the forehead, chin and cheeks) this shimmer affect will support the holiday look.

The Jewelry- In my opinion due to the sequins, balance is needed. Recommending no necklace but gold toned earrings and an elegant bracelet.

The Nails- Highly recommended No-Chip in a nude shade or decorative polish with glitter and one accented fingernail for holiday festive look.

 

Photo courtesy provided by OPI
 
The Shoes- Gold vintage Bakers Shoes 
Photo coutesy by Poshmark.com
 

Added Accessories- Gold clutch purse. As an added tip get yourself some over-sized rhinestones and using a glue-gun you can achieve a creative playful …yet unique clutch bag with a little “costume bling”.

 

Photo courtesy by Pursepage.com
 
Photo Courtesy by Chicago Imaging Solutions.com
 
My recommended fragrance is Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb. I simply love this fragrance with a “floral explosion” of jasmine, centifolia rose, cattleya orchid, and ballerina freesia bloom on a base of patchouli. I love it! But of course you choose what suits your taste in fragrances👍

Now you are ready for a night out on the town!…Happy New Year! Enjoy yourself, be safe and be happy! I just achieved my look based on my personality and items that I always possess.

So, go into the New Year being yourself, being resourceful, creative using what you’ve got! “Making a Scene with Fashion in 2016”.🎉🎉

Leave a Reply

